

Shropshire Council Legal and Democratic Services Shirehall Abbey Foregate Shrewsbury SY2 6ND

Date: 17 December 2021

Committee: Cabinet

Date: Wednesday, 5 January 2022

Time: 10.00 am

Venue: Shrewsbury/Oswestry Room, Shirehall, Abbey Foregate,

Shrewsbury, Shropshire, SY2 6ND

You are requested to attend the above meeting. The Agenda is attached

Members of the public will be able to access the live stream of the meeting by clicking on the link below and a recording will be made available afterwards

https://shropshire.gov.uk/CabinetMeeting5January2022

There will be some access to the meeting room for members of the press and public but this will be limited for health and safety reasons.

If you wish to attend the meeting please e-mail democracy@shropshire.gov.uk to check that a seat will be available for you.

Tim Collard
Interim Assistant Director Legal and Democratic Services (Monitoring Officer)

Members of Cabinet

Lezley Picton (Leader)
Gwilym Butler
Dean Carroll
Rob Gittins
Kirstie Hurst-Knight
Simon Jones
Cecilia Motley
Ian Nellins
Ed Potter

Your Committee Officer is:

Ashley Kendrick

Tel: 01743 250893 Email: amanda.holyoak@shropshire.gov.uk



AGENDA

1 Apologies for Absence

2 Disclosable Interests

Members are reminded that they must declare their disclosable pecuniary interests and other registrable or non-registrable interests in any matter being considered at the meeting as set out in Appendix B of the Members' Code of Conduct and consider if they should leave the room prior to the item being considered. Further advice can be sought from the Monitoring Officer in advance of the meeting.

Minutes (Pages 1 - 6)

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the previous meeting held on Wednesday 1st December 2021

4 **Public Questions** (Pages 7 - 10)

To receive any questions from members of the public, notice of which has been given in accordance with Procedure Rule 14. Deadline for notification is not later than 10:00 AM Thursday 23rd December 2021

5 Members Question Time (Pages 11 - 16)

To receive any questions from members of the council. Deadline for notification is not later than 5:00 PM Wednesday 22nd December 2021

6 Scrutiny Items

7 Setting the Council Tax Taxbase for 2022/23 (Pages 17 - 40)

Lead Member - Councillor Gwilym Butler- Portfolio Holder for Resources

Report of James Walton, Executive Director Resources – attached

Tel: 01743 258915

8 Mid-Year Capital and the Financial Strategy 2022/2023 - 2025/2026

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler – Portfolio Holder for Resources

Report of James Walton, Executive Director Resources - TO FOLLOW

Tel: 01743 258915

9 Treasury Strategy 2021/22 Mid-Year Review (Pages 41 - 68)

Lead Member – Councillor Gwilym Butler– Portfolio Holder for Resources

Report of James Walton, Executive Director Resources - attached

Tel: 01743 258915

10 Community Asset Transfer Rad Valley Scout & Guide HQ (Pages 69 - 84)

Lead Member - Dean Carroll - Portfolio Holder for Physical Infrastructure

Report of Mark Barrow, Director of Place - attached

Tel: 01743258919

11 Exclusion of Press and Public

To resolve that, in accordance with the provisions of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972 and Paragraph 10.4 [3] of the Council's Access to Information Rules, the public and press be excluded from the meeting during consideration of the following items.

12 The Aspire Centre (Pages 85 - 96)

Lead Member - Councillor Dean Carroll- Portfolio Holder for Physical Infrastructure

Exempt report of Mark Barrow, Director of Place – attached

Tel: 01743 258919

13 Shire Services Catering Operations

Lead Member - Councillor Dean Carroll- Portfolio Holder for Physical Infrastructure

Exempt report of Mark Barrow, Director of Place - ATTACHED

Tel: 01743 258919